I. Assets

An important task for our project was to make lists of all the assets needed for the game so that we could create them to the specification without missing any. I compiled lists of all the 3D assets and 3D animations for Milosz to make, and all the 2D assets for me to make.

List of 3D assets:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

List of 3D animations:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

List of 2D assets:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Unfortunately, the only 2D assets I was able to make are the tiles in the temple puzzle, as those were imperative to the puzzle. I’d have loved to have started on them earlier along in the development so that I could make the inventory icons because I think it would have made the game feel even more finished. In particular, I wish I had made time to do the constellation drawings and the star maps in the residential area puzzle because I feel that was a really clear and important demonstration of how objects are seen differently in each city, and also would have added some charm having the little Ursa Major bear and Sagittarius illustrations in the game. I think my 2D digital art style would have looked really nice in-game too as it matches the low-poly cel-shaded effect of the 3D world. In place of inventory icons, Milosz used text labels for each of the items to let the player know they had something in their inventory.

The 2D assets I made for the temple puzzle tiles are below. If I had made the rest of the assets I planned to, they’d all have been in this style. I chose to make the tiles in the yellow city be illustrations (featuring the outfits I designed in my concept art) and the tiles in the blue city be plain text (using the font that matches our title screen) because this demonstrates each of the cities very well- the yellow people celebrate art and creativity whereas the blue people prefer simplicity and practicality. I used my colour palette in these assets for a consistent branding style. We later changed the ‘LOOK AFTER YOURSELF’ tile to ‘PROTECT YOURSELF’ after some feedback from play-testing sessions because people were struggling to figure out the puzzle solution.

Leave a comment